Auto Insurance Minimums for New York
For motorists in the state of New York, getting an auto insurance quote is crucial, as consequences for not carrying insurance in the Empire State could leave you paying more than those initial monthly rates. For drivers in New York, a minimum amount of liability insurance must be carried at all times or you will pay a huge penalty.
Five percent of all licensed drivers in New York are uninsured. This means that if you don’t get an auto insurance quote you run the risk of losing more than just points on your driving record. Without insurance drivers will lose their vehicle registration, as well as get ticketed and fined. When caught without proof of policy your car may also be towed and impounded, and you will be charged $8 to $12 each day your vehicle is uninsured. If at the end of 90 days you cannot show proof of coverage, you are required to pay a civil penalty of $840.
The best way to avoid expensive fees is to have adequate coverage. With the average yearly cost for insurance in New York being $2,320, getting an auto insurance quote today could be the difference between paying money now, and paying more money later.
New York DUI Law
As with most states, driving in New York under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious crime. New York, especially, has a zero tolerance policy for anyone under the age of 21 who drives while intoxicated. If caught and convicted with a DUI, drivers will face up to a year in jail and lose their license for six months.
New York is one of the many states that have an “implied consent” law set in place. This means that a police officer has the right to subject drivers to a chemical, blood, urine or breath test if that officer believes the person in question is driving under the influence.
The blood alcohol content level that is permissible for non minors in New York is under 0.08%. Anything higher than this number will result in a DUI. Furthermore, a BAC of 0.15% or higher can result in sentence enhancements. Minors will be given a DUI if their BAC is 0.02% or above. That’s usually the amount in one drink. Commercial vehicle drivers will get a DUI if they are driving with a BAC of 0.04% or above.
If you get arrested with a DUI in New York, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. You will have to pay a fine, ranging from $500 to $1,000, as well as a conviction subcharge. Drivers arrested with a DUI will spend anywhere from a couple days up to a year in jail, and their license will be suspended for up to six months. Penalties for a second DUI are even greater, and can land you up to seven years in prison.
New York Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements
Teens in the state of New York must partake in the state’s version of the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program. This program follows three basic steps in order to prepare teens for the road. Before receiving an unrestricted license, teens must first receive a learner’s license, and then an intermediate license.
Obtaining a learner’s license is the first step toward driving for a teen in New York. Teens must be 16 years old in order to receive this special restrictive license, and they must possess this license for at least six months before applying for an intermediate license. When in possession of a learner’s license, teens must complete at least 50 hours of driving while supervised, and this number includes 15 hours at night. This is the only way to graduate toward the second step—the intermediate license. Once an intermediate license is obtained, and a driver reaches 17 years old and has taken driver education courses, they may be eligible to receive an unrestricted license.
Teens in New York must carry a minimum amount of $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury, $25,000/$50,000 uninsured/underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist bodily injury, $10,000 for property damage, and $50,000 personal injury protection (PIP).