What to know when buying car insurance in michigan

Auto Insurance Minimums for Michigan

The state of Michigan requires by law that drivers have a minimum liability insurance ratio of 20/40/10.  This ratio translates into $20K of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person, $40K of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident, and $10K of Property Damage coverage per accident.  This is only the minimum.

The Michigan Department of Insurance strongly suggests that motorists purchase more than the legal limit.  More than 17% of Michigan drivers are uninsured, which means that 1.2 million motorists defy state law.  This does not include the thousands of others that have inadequate coverage. As a result, the Department of Insurance also suggests having uninsured/underinsured motorist protection (UM/UIM).  This may seem like a lot to ask, but finding reasonable auto insurance quotes can be very simple if you take the time to look.

Choosing to drive without auto insurance in Michigan will result in the suspension of your driver’s license.  You will not be permitted to renew, transfer, or replace your vehicles license plate until you can show proof of insurance.  In addition, you must pay a $200 fee for two years.

Purchasing car insurance is simple.  You just need access to basic online resources like Save Today so that you can easily shop around for the best auto insurance quotes in order to find what is best suited to your needs.  On average, Michigan drivers pay $2,010 for auto insurance per year, which really isn’t much compared to the financial risk and anxiety associated with the alternative.

Michigan DUI Law

Driving while under the influence in Michigan is technically called “operating while intoxicated,” or “OWI.” Penalties for breaking OWI laws in Michigan are severe. For a first offense DUI you may lose your license, pay a hefty fine, and even end up in jail. Michigan also has a law called “Operating While Visibly Impaired,” or “OWVI.”

The blood alcohol content level (BAC) limit in Michigan is 0.08% or higher. If you are caught with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, you could face tougher sentencing. Mandatory jail time for first offense DUIs can be as much as 93 days, and those who receive DUIs will be ordered to carry out an agreed upon amount of community service. Fines range from $100 to $500, and the driver must pay to have an interlock device installed in their car. Second time offenders can spend up to 12 months in jail.

Michigan Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements

Due to the high number of teen driving related accidents in Michigan, there are many steps a teen must take in order to obtain a license.  All these steps fall under the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system.

Driver license requirements for teens include passing two segments of GDL and three licensing levels. The system used in Michigan is as follows:

Segment One: Begins as young as 14 and 8 months old. These teens must have permission from their parents in order to receive a driver’s education course with 24 hours minimum of classroom and behind the wheel instruction hours.
Level One License: This is the same as a learner’s license, and a teen must be in possession of this license for at least six months before applying for a level two license.
Segment Two: Teens must complete at least 30 hours of supervised driving while in possession of a level one license, with a minimum of two hours driving at night. In addition, teens must complete six hours of classroom instruction with a certified driving instructor.
Level Two License: Teens must complete segment one and level one licensing to receive a level two license, as well as at least 50 hours of driving experience.
Level Three License: Teens must be at least 17 years old to receive a level three license and have a clean driving record. They must also first complete segments one and two, and have received their level two license.

In addition to having strict licensing laws, Michigan does not tolerate teen drinking while driving. If a teen is caught driving with a BAC of 0.02% or more they will be convicted of a DUI. This amount is equal to about one drink or less. Penalties for drinking under the influence may include a fine of up to $250, 360 hours of community service, restricted driver’s license for 30 days, four points on the teen’s driving record and a payment of $500 in Driver Responsibility fees.

Michigan teens are required to meet the state’s minimum requirements for auto insurance coverage, although purchasing more than minimum insurance is highly recommended.

Reference:
https://www.carinsurancecheap.net/car-insurance-in-michigan